Transportation Advisory Committee

San Diego State University (SDSU) operates under a shared governance philosophy, where each member of the community (whether faculty, student, staff or administrator) has an opportunity to weigh in on matters of policy and procedure.


The purpose of the Transportation Advisory Committee is to assist San Diego State University in identifying and prioritizing recommended opportunities to improve pedestrian, bicycling, transit, and other non-single occupancy vehicle commute modes. It is our goal to provide members of the campus community equal access to mobility options and to help overcome barriers to its use. This Committee shall remain independent from existing campus parking committees.

CSU Transportation and Parking Policy

Membership for faculty and staff shall be for a period of two (2) years, staggered to ensure continuity. Students shall be appointed annually. Recommendations for membership from campus constituencies should consider the backgrounds of the persons selected to ensure that students with disabilities and students from disadvantaged communities are represented.

The membership of the Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) will consist of at least:

  1. Two (2) students; recommended by the President and Associated Students, Inc.; 1-year term
  2. Two (2) faculty; recommended by the Academic Sentate; 2-year term
  3. Two (2) staff representatives
  4. Transportation Manager/Coordinator; Chairperson; Ex Officio, non-voting member; indefinite term
  5. Parking Director; Ex Officio, non-voting member; indefinite term
  6. Sustainability Coordinator, Ex Officio, non-voting member; indefinite term
  7. One (1) representative from the Chancellor's Office, designated by the Chancellor's Office, non-voting member; indefinite term
  8. Local transportation agency representatives; Ex Officio, non-voting member; indefinite term (optional)

Should the University be unable to fill any of the positions listed above, the committee shall record efforts taken by the University to fill them. Members should be representative of individuals who are primarily transit or active transportation commuters.

Regular meetings of the ATC will occur at least once per semester. Other meetings may be called as needed by the VICE PRESIDENT OF ADMINISTRATION & FINANCE and/or CHAIRPERSON.

  • Develop a report of the campus' transportation needs and recommendations to improve bicycle, pedestrian and transit commute mode share.
  • Provide input to the development of the campus' Transportation Demand Management (TDM) Plan.
  • Evaluate the effectiveness of the campus' TDM strategies through cost/benefit analysis and hourly utilization of various transportation modes.
  • Identify and recommend TDM strategies to prioritize campus investment and help request/seek funding for those strategies.
  • Use campus transportation performance data to recommend new programs and/or changes in strategy.
  • Assist in determining the need for the construction of new parking assets or improvement of existing parking assets.
  • In the event of a new parking improvement and/or facility is needed, provide a letter to confirm the recommendation of the Transportation Advisory Committee.
  1. Education Code Section 89721(i) requires campus parking operations to be self-supporting.
  2. Education Code Section 89701(b)(4) requires the campus to form an Alternative Transportation Committee, and investigate and consider alternative transportation strategies as determined by that committee before any funds can be allocated for the construction of parking facilities.

All Committee meetings are held via Zoom. For information on meeting login, contact Parking & Transportation Services.

  • Silvia Croft, Transportation Analyst - Chair
  • Jd Weidman, Director of PATS - Co-Chair
  • Annde Dodge Schwanz, Division of Research & Innovation - Staff
  • Charlotte Roberts- Staff
  • Dr. Bruce Appleyard - Faculty
  • Tiffany Dykstra-Devette - Faculty
  • Olivia Devito - Student
  • Wesley Cooksy - Student 
  • Kristin Larson, Director of Energy and Sustainability
  • Hank Kaplan, CSU Office of the Chancellor, Transportation
  • Erika Saari, SANDAG iCommute - Agency Rep
  • Ariel Kroll, San Diego Metropolitan Transit System - Agency Rep